The Student Room Group

Biomedical sciences to accounting

Hey!! I’m currently studying biomedical sciences, but now going through the degree I’m having second thoughts as to whether science itself is an area that I want to pursue. I’m thinking of other career paths and accountancy seems like one that I could potentially be interested in, although I still have a lot of research etc to do on the topic before I make any decisions.

I’ve personally never really done anything related to accounting/business at all, even at GCSE level. At the moment I’m thinking of doing maybe some small courses over summer to get a better idea as to whether accounting would be something that I would like, although I was just wanting to see if there was anyone on here who has experienced a similar situation, or if there is any advice/resources I could look at to get a better idea on accounting and whether it’s a career I would be interested in. Thanks:smile:
Original post by Trull123
Hey!! I’m currently studying biomedical sciences, but now going through the degree I’m having second thoughts as to whether science itself is an area that I want to pursue. I’m thinking of other career paths and accountancy seems like one that I could potentially be interested in, although I still have a lot of research etc to do on the topic before I make any decisions.

I’ve personally never really done anything related to accounting/business at all, even at GCSE level. At the moment I’m thinking of doing maybe some small courses over summer to get a better idea as to whether accounting would be something that I would like, although I was just wanting to see if there was anyone on here who has experienced a similar situation, or if there is any advice/resources I could look at to get a better idea on accounting and whether it’s a career I would be interested in. Thanks:smile:

Hi there!