The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Arabic, it's awesome. I started learning it but stopped for some unknown reason. I can just about read simple Arabic, and can understand a tiny tiny bit, but I want to learn more.
Arabic.
Reply 3
Would do arabic personally...
Reply 4
well spanish would help if you chose italian or portuguese...
Reply 5
Mandarin/Arabic because if you know Spanish you'll be able to get the jist of other European languages anyway. Though I would side more towards Mandarin because they'll be the next superpower and everything :smile:
Reply 6
arabic
Muerto_1991
Slight problem :confused: i've applied to Salford University to read Spanish along with some Translation and Interpretation Studies... problem is which language should i do as well as Spanish?
Options are Mandarin Chinese, German, Arabic, Italian or Portuguese...
thank you for helping me decide ! :biggrin:

If it's any help, I'm doing spanish russian and italian this year and I can tell you now, I find it difficult not to mix up spanish and italian - this has made READING italian easier, but trying not to mix them up is so hard :s-smilie:

Go for something unusual :wink: Spanish and portuguese SOUND completely different, but I've heard that they're similarly written.

Chinese is going up in the world, so I'd probably choose that, apart from italian, but arabic is also widely spoken..hmm hard decision. I'm sure you'll be pleased with whichever you pick :smile: Try having a look at how they're written through searching something you like on wikipedia, and putting it into a language (language selection on the left hand side of the page) - that's how I see if I can read catalan/portuguese

Good luck with the rest of your ucas anguish :smile:
I woul recommend arabic as alot of people in this country speak it and would set you in good stead for a job
German (I'm somewhat biased though)