The Student Room Group

Preperation for IB School and doing law....

Hey there guys, long time reader of the forum. I finally decided to post myself and ask for help instead of reading others posts. So currently I am going to my first year of D.P. this year here in Canada. I have been in M.Y.P. for two years now so I kind of know whats IB is like :/
Anyways, currently I have my heart set on doing some kind of international law because I love traveling so doing some kind of law which allows me to travel would be great. My teachers say I am a very bright student but, often I do not pay attention in class which is true. However, for the next two years I am determined to work my butt off to get good marks. My goal is to get into a good English (british) university because frankly I love England and the way things are there.

Some Universities that I had in mind were: U.C.L., Kings College, Cambridge, Oxford, and McGill here in Canada. Therefore I will probably need to aim for 37-40 points which I know is not easy. I will also try to volunteer a lot and get certified in other languages to add to my profile. I guess my questions really are:

What kind of law allows one to travel a lot?

What kind of side endeavors (like the Duke of Edinburgh award) can I take up to better my profile?

Do you think my current course selection is good for law ?
ENGLISH HL
FRENCH HL
HISTORY HL
BIOLOGY SL
MATH SL
PSYCHOLOGY SL

I have the option change French HL for BIOLOGY HL, MATH SL for MATH Studies, PSYCH SL for Online economics, online business & management, philosophy and etc.

So would it matter for a university if i took Math Studies instead?

Sorry if i wrote a lot, thank for your time. I hope somebody will reply and help me out. :smile:
Reply 1
Original post by akem