The Student Room Group

University degree or a degree apprenticeship?

L:smile:
(edited 3 weeks ago)
Reply 1
I would keep your options open. Apply for both and see what you get offered. You will find that employers are asking for good grades from their degree apprentices so that should demonstrate to your parents that these apprenticeships are not available to people who don't get good enough grades for university. In fact you will find securing a degree apprenticeship is normally very competitive.

Are you sure you want to do law? I know you want to keep your parents happy. You certainly don't sound like a bad daughter to me. But you need to want to do this whichever route you end up taking.
Reply 2
Original post by S_m££Ra
Hello everyone,

I’m a student currently in year 12 and I’m studying 3 subjects, I have to do 1 BTEC/LiBf subject and 2 IB subjects. I study business, psychology and finance, I know these are different subjects to what career I’d like to pursue but I’m thinking of doing law, I’ve heard that it doesn’t really matter what subjects I choose therefore I chose these hoping to get a career in law.

My main question is I’m stuck between deciding whether to do a degree apprenticeship or go to university.

if I go to university i will have to pay incredibly high fees and also my friends have said that it’s highly unlikely I’ll find a job straight away after I’ve finished uni therefore it may take me quite some time whereas a degree apprenticeship will offer me a salary and also a real life experience with no debt, but the thing is, is a degree apprenticeship for students that don’t necessarily ‘do well in exams’, if that’s the case I’m not going to really be interested as I don’t want my parents to look down on me.