The Student Room Group

Citizenship

Hi all,

My name is Liam, I'm 25, and I'm a politics grad from the LSE.

So why am I posting about GCSE Citizenship? Right now I'm doing research for a charitable project, part of which concerns how subjects like politics are addressed in school. I would love to hear about GCSE students' experiences of studying Citizenship (short-course or otherwise): why it's good/bad, how it's taught, what you'd change etc. It would be awesome to hear from anyone with any informed opinions on the course, either on here or by message. Just in case you were wondering, confidentiality is ensured - what matters are your comments, not your identity! (I also hope this friendly request is within the bounds of this forum...!)

Thanks for your help, looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Reply 1
It wasn't too bad. To be honest, most of it was spent messing around. 70% of the course involved coursework- where we had to set up a convention of some sorts top raise money for charity. We had a school concert with students singing/performing, charging 1 pound a ticket and ended up raising 270 pounds- half going to a local hospice and the other for children in need. I filled in my coursework booklet with a load of faff on why I was a good citizen- very easy to do- I just sounded very, very pretentious and received full marks on the coursework. We took a few pictures of us posing for a few things- putting out chairs, pointing out to students performing where to stand, holding the auditions, and finally the main show. I was mainly involved in planning, so my photos where mostly for logistics. Easy full marks.