The Student Room Group

Can't program but doing Computer Science

Hi guys i was just wondering if i would struggle alot with the Computer science course that i will start at kings college london soon if i have not really grasped programming that well. I studied computing in the first year of college and we did visual basic and i pretty much know the basic's of that but nothing more...
I am really looking forward to the maths part of computer science as that's my strongest point.
So, the question is really can I get away with not knowing much programming when i begin my course and be able to catch up to the rest quickly or must i attempt to learn programming during the holiday before the course?
Reply 1
I advise you to learn the programming part as well too :smile:
Reply 2
Do you enjoy programming even if you don't feel it's your strongest point?
If so, try to find from the course tutors what level you will be starting at. The more practice you get the better obviously.
It just occured to me that if you really like maths, why not do a maths degree? You are far more likely to do well in a course you really enjoy as you will naturally want to put in the time and effort. We live in a country where, sadly, the classification of your degree matters much more than the subject it's in.
Reply 3
They don't really expect you to have any prior knowledge so don't worry about it

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4
Original post by Thomas2
Do you enjoy programming even if you don't feel it's your strongest point?
If so, try to find from the course tutors what level you will be starting at. The more practice you get the better obviously.
It just occured to me that if you really like maths, why not do a maths degree? You are far more likely to do well in a course you really enjoy as you will naturally want to put in the time and effort. We live in a country where, sadly, the classification of your degree matters much more than the subject it's in.