The Student Room Group

Masters in Economics without a Bachelor in Economics?

Hi guys,

I'm currently an undergraduate Physics student in Imperial College London, but I am planning to pursue a Masters in Economics after I graduate.

I was wondering if it is possible to pursue a 1-year MSc Economics anywhere, instead of having to do the 2-year programme? Most websites state that "a relevant degree" is required, but I have no idea what they define as relevant. As a theoretical physicist, my course emphasizes strongly on Mathematics. I also have A level background in Economics, and intend to take a Managerial Economics module in my final year.

Many thanks.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by Kirboz
My advice is highly cursory, but regardless:

Your best bet is to directly liaise with the postgraduate admissions teams of the universities to which you intend to apply. Ostensibly, it depends on the degree title, but I know of numerous examples of people progressing onto a PG in a field in which they had no direct academic experience, but was vicariously related to their UG.

Economics can be somewhat different though, for example some unis specificslly require you to have done say intermediate macro, micro and econometrics. The quantitative background will be helpful but can not replace assumed knowlegde of economics. OP, I think you will have to contact the unis, but I suspect most of them, or at least most of the top ones anyway, will point you to the two year option.
Reply 2
Original post by milkyway999
Hi guys,

I'm currently an undergraduate Physics student in Imperial College London, but I am planning to pursue a Masters in Economics after I graduate.