The Student Room Group

Consequences of accessible education

Does anyone ever think to themselves, now that we have easy access to (institutions of) education, do we not necessarily lower the standard? By opening the gates to all do we not in turn hinder the progress of those who really are exceptional?

I'm studying mathematics and I do find the course material challenging. What bothers me is that I know there are others who do not, perhaps it comes more naturally to them. In that case, the difficulty of the course has to be lowered so that any given student, such as myself, should be comfortable enough to do well.

Surely this significantly slows the progress of those more 'talented' students which then slows the progress of our civilization?

I very much enjoy my course and would be unhappy if I was unable to study - I have accessible education to thank for that - but when I think about society as a whole and not just the individual this notion still bugs me. I wonder how much more (if any) progress would be made if (possibly only particular) Universities were strictly for the more talented students (affluence playing no part).

If anyone has any of their own thoughts on the matter I would be interested to hear them.
(edited 10 years ago)
Original post by mchairmaster
Does anyone ever think to themselves, now that we have easy access to (institutions of) education, do we not necessarily lower the standard? By opening the gates to all do we not in turn hinder the progress of those who really are exceptional?

I'm studying mathematics and I do find the course material challenging. What bothers me is that I know there are others who do not, perhaps it comes more naturally to them. In that case, the difficulty of the course has to be lowered so that any given student, such as myself, should be comfortable enough to do well.

Surely this significantly slows the progress of those more 'talented' students which then slows the progress of our civilization?