The Student Room Group

Received 4 unconditional offers, now need to decide.. HELP!

Okay, I'll start off by saying I am new to TSR and I haven't quite got the hang of it yet, so I apologise if I'm repeating any other posts/forums!

I would like some advice on the Uni's that I have received offers from. To paint a quick picture of myself and my background - I am classed as a mature student (23 years old), I am also visually impaired and it's been over 5 years since I've been in full time study. I took Physics, Maths and Biology A levels where I received AAA during the first year but ended the two years with DBD due to spending 90% of my second year at hospital investigating my sudden vision loss. Last few years I've been working in dead end jobs, but now my health has stabled some what, I've made the decision to apply to University to pursue my dream of studying Physics! (Yes, geeky I know..).

I have applied to study Bsc Physics with a Preliminary/Foundation Year at;
University of Bristol, Nottingham Trent, University of Kent, and Loughborough University.

SO; if anyone has any input on these Uni's, what it's like to be a young 'mature student', life at Uni with a disability or can point me in the direction of a relevant thread I would be very grateful!!

Thanks in advance :smile:
I think that Bristol is the best of those universities but as well the one that'll be the hardest to navigate (literally) for a student with a visual impairment: that's a split-site city centre campus. Kent would be far easier in that sense. I can't speak for the other two.
Reply 2
It could be worth emailing the universities and asking them what sort of support you would get due to being visually impaired, as that will obviously have a large effect on your experience at uni.
Reply 3
Original post by alow