The Student Room Group

Project on Group Theory

I'm an IB student doing the Maths HL course, a Mathematical Exploration is mandatory for all students and should range between 6-12 pages.

Samples of these explorations can be found here and criteria on page 64 of this document.

I would like to do my exploration on Sets, Relations and Groups. This is out of the main syllabus and hence I have little to no knowledge of the material. I have a basic understanding of functions and relations, bijectivity, surjectivity and injectivity and an understanding of the group axioms, but beyond that. I have no knowledge what so ever. Are there any resources available that will provide me with the foundation of groups and relations and build up to some more advanced stuff?

Secondly, can you recommend any interesting applications of group theory and whether I would be better off discussing one application in exceeding depth for my exploration or cover two/three applications in deep, but not extremely deep in it?

Thank you! :smile:
Original post by Zacken
I'm an IB student doing the Maths HL course, a Mathematical Exploration is mandatory for all students and should range between 6-12 pages.

Samples of these explorations can be found here and criteria on page 64 of this document.

I would like to do my exploration on Sets, Relations and Groups. This is out of the main syllabus and hence I have little to no knowledge of the material. I have a basic understanding of functions and relations, bijectivity, surjectivity and injectivity and an understanding of the group axioms, but beyond that. I have no knowledge what so ever. Are there any resources available that will provide me with the foundation of groups and relations and build up to some more advanced stuff?