The Student Room Group

medicine - a prescription for depression

just wondering if there were any coping mechanisms anyone had for surviving their medical degree? throughout the last couple of years ive been perceived as a bossy, critical person who has used their "authority" to ridicule others (i worked as a manager at a retail outlet during my sixth form). i now think that this may be a subconscious way of taking my mind off what is to follow being a doctor - having learnt that continually criticising others is a sign of your own insecurity.
I ve had to experience death quite a lot over the past few years and am the kind of person who bottles it all up, but have found that this makes you 'cold' and 'distant'. I never used to be bossy and my mates have noticed a big change since i decided to go down the medicine career path. I do know deep down i want to be a doctor and i had 4 offers so thats not really the issue. Id just be interested in any advice in overcoming personality traits in a profession which has one of the highest suicide rates in the world?
Reply 1
You either manage or you don't. Alternatively, try Prozac.
Reply 2
Have you tried some community or voluntary work working with the less fortunate? Maybe that sort of thing will help...
Reply 3
Lucy
Have you tried some community or voluntary work working with the less fortunate? Maybe that sort of thing will help...

What a complete waste of time. How would extra work make him less depressed?
Reply 4
i'm not depressed, i meant it had the potential to be depressing and was just wondering what keeps students motivated during their degree. It's quite shocking the proportion of medical students that go into Law etc. after having trained to be a doctor for 5 years.
Reply 5
Community service shouldn't be considered as extra 'work' - all you have to do is talk to people, it can be quite relaxing and in those situations there is no need to be bossy or critical... could be good practice.
Reply 6
scrubs