The Student Room Group

LLB degree stale? Becoming a barrister

Hello everyone! After completing my law degree I did my masters in IP law and have been working for a scientific research company in their IP department for the last few years. Recently I have been seriously considering becoming a barrister.

I was interested before but family commitments got in the way so did not have time or finances to go for it. My life is much settled now and I am thinking of going for it. The thing is that my law degree is now stale (bar council says I would've had to do my bar course within 5 years of graduating.)

My question is, would a GDL be appropriate to do and then go for the bar training course. I have spoken to a few people who are barristers and they've said I have a good chance of getting pupilage with my experience and masters but I am worried about wasting money.

Any advice would be appreciated
Reply 1
Original post by iloveselfridges
Hello everyone! After completing my law degree I did my masters in IP law and have been working for a scientific research company in their IP department for the last few years. Recently I have been seriously considering becoming a barrister.

I was interested before but family commitments got in the way so did not have time or finances to go for it. My life is much settled now and I am thinking of going for it. The thing is that my law degree is now stale (bar council says I would've had to do my bar course within 5 years of graduating.)

My question is, would a GDL be appropriate to do and then go for the bar training course. I have spoken to a few people who are barristers and they've said I have a good chance of getting pupilage with my experience and masters but I am worried about wasting money.

Where is your law degree from? If it is a UK degree, then you don't need GDL. Just apply for the BPTC.
Original post by Abby1011
Where is your law degree from? If it is a UK degree, then you don't need GDL. Just apply for the BPTC.

Hello,