The Student Room Group

Will bad GCSEs lower my chances for Cambridge law school?

Hi guys,
I was a 2020 gcse student and I got downgraded, my gcses are 8,6,6,5,5,5-4,4,L2D*.

For A-levels it's possible for me to get A*A* B (did my mocks last week) or even A*A*A* with lots of hard work.
If I do manage on getting these A levels is there a possibility of cambridge law ? (I also have extenuating circumstances and may also qualify for contextual offers)
Original post by Anonymous
Hi guys,
I was a 2020 gcse student and I got downgraded, my gcses are 8,6,6,5,5,5-4,4,L2D*.

For A-levels it's possible for me to get A*A* B (did my mocks last week) or even A*A*A* with lots of hard work.
If I do manage on getting these A levels is there a possibility of cambridge law ? (I also have extenuating circumstances and may also qualify for contextual offers)

Nobody can tell for certain but it has been done before. Your best bet is to apply because that is the only chance you will get.
I think a lot more emphasis on your law application is placed on your interview and admissions test results rather than GCSE's.

If you did badly at GCSE's but performed well enough at A-level to apply to Cambridge, I guess that would show them your dedication and hard work to be able to pull your socks up and get your act together enough to apply to their university.
Hi there!