The Student Room Group

Durham vs Lancaster

I’m firming another university but I’m choosing between these two for insurance. I’m studying business management.
Lancaster has a major/minor system which I’m interested in while Durham as a university is way more prestigious (but I know Lancaster’s business management is also ranked quite high).
I think Lancaster would be more lenient on results day if I miss the offer but I don’t think I would mess up that bad tbh.
Other than the major/minor thing I think their courses are quite similar.
I’m an international student so have never visited the cities.
Which one should I put as my insurance?
Durham have historically treated insurance applicants appallingly. And is in no way better than Lancaster for business management
Reply 2
Original post by PQ
Durham have historically treated insurance applicants appallingly. And is in no way better than Lancaster for business management

could you tell me more about that? i heard that durham has a housing crisis and wouldn’t be able to provide insurance applicants accommodation, what about lancaster?
Original post by anan0405
could you tell me more about that? i heard that durham has a housing crisis and wouldn’t be able to provide insurance applicants accommodation, what about lancaster?

Over the years Durham has tended to keep students on hold around results day which has meant te better clearing options have been filled. They are also very restrictive on grades and not a good insurance choice. You would be better off with Lancaster. Durham is also better known for its Humanities and Science courses rather than Business.

Hi I have been hearing about the housing issue in Durham and second years + having to queue like all night at letting agents before they open up.