The Student Room Group

I am a student in y9(14 years old) and I want to get into Dentistry when I am older

I have heard many things about how hard it is to get into dentistry and I just want to ask others if I was on the right track to one day get into dentistry. Currently I am on my LAMDA public speaking grade 5. I also help out teaching younger kids kick-boxing and martial arts in addition to now 3 months of volunteering at a charity shop( which is still ongoing). The things I am worried about are I heard that I have to show manual dexterity and currently I do nothing related to that so please could you guys give me ideas on this. I also have the same concern with showing leadership skills as right now I don’t do things related to that too so what are some ideas for showing leadership. Please if you read this could you give me ideas on new things to pick up which would work towards getting into dentistry.

Is it true that I should enrol in competition and challenges or do they not matter too much.
Original post by js234
I have heard many things about how hard it is to get into dentistry and I just want to ask others if I was on the right track to one day get into dentistry. Currently I am on my LAMDA public speaking grade 5. I also help out teaching younger kids kick-boxing and martial arts in addition to now 3 months of volunteering at a charity shop( which is still ongoing). The things I am worried about are I heard that I have to show manual dexterity and currently I do nothing related to that so please could you guys give me ideas on this. I also have the same concern with showing leadership skills as right now I don’t do things related to that too so what are some ideas for showing leadership. Please if you read this could you give me ideas on new things to pick up which would work towards getting into dentistry.

Is it true that I should enrol in competition and challenges or do they not matter too much.