The Student Room Group

Quitting my PhD - Retrain as a teacher

I'm currently a PhD student in biological sciences and I'm hating my current situation. I'm in my last year, but the pressure is immense. I wanted to do a PhD because I wanted to work with research, but I think I have finally realised that that is not going to make me happy. I don't cope well with the constant trouble shooting (why can't anything work just from the first try?), endless deadlines (focus on the data analysis, but do lab work at the same time, prepare for this presentation, do this, do that, random risk assessment here, write this manuscript) and I hate how I'm responsible for how my experiments goes (you can't control biology!). I also don't appreciate how coming in at 9 and leaving at 5 isn't even the bare minimum: You're expected to work evenings and weekends. I do also feel slightly bullied by my supervisors (they don't listen to me, they make faces at me, they treat other students differently), but even when I try to imagine what I'd feel like with better supervisors I still don't think I'd be happy.

It's gotten so bad that it's actually affecting my health. I often sleep badly, I have nightmares related to my research work and uni and people here, I get headaches, my stomach gets upset and my blood cortisol level is literally elevated just because I'm so stressed all the time. I'm also starting to feel like I might be downright depressed. Everything just kinda feels hopeless, and I don't really give a **** about many things anymore. I feel bitter and tired. Cliché maybe, but I don't feel like myself anymore.