The Student Room Group

Exchange to the UK

Hi there,

I am an Australian student of south asian descent. I am planning on doing exchange in the UK and have a choice out of: University of Roehampton, University of East Anglia, University of Exeter, University of York.

I am really confused about which university to pick.

- First, I am not very used to any prejudice based on my race in Australia, so I fear that if I face some away from home, that I will feel really isolated. I don't have any preconceptions of what to expect in terms of this, I just have a very big fear of that happening as I don't know how well I will be able to deal with it. In terms of this, what university would be best?
- Second, I do consider student/university life and nightlife as something to consider. I'm not necessarily that into clubbing, but am not opposed to it at all either. As long as there are things to do social-wise I'm quite happy. In terms of this, what university would be best?
- Third, I do intend to travel to other places in England, the UK and Europe as much as possible while on exchange. So in terms of transport (bus, trains) and airports, which university would be best?

Out of all these things to consider, if anyone has any advice it would be greatly appreciated. I also don't mean any disrespect when I ask these questions, they are just fears of mine, travelling and living abroad for the first time alone. :smile:
Reply 1
Original post by Anonymous
Hi there,

I am an Australian student of south asian descent. I am planning on doing exchange in the UK and have a choice out of: University of Roehampton, University of East Anglia, University of Exeter, University of York.

I am really confused about which university to pick.