The Student Room Group

inquiry about resits

I'm an international student and will be resitting my final exams in 2024 as I could not perform well due to a medical emergency in the family. I wish to apply for econ at the University of Edinburgh. I already have achieved the grades they require for Indian students to be considered for admission. Is there any chance I will be considered even after resits.
Original post by meharkseehra
I'm an international student and will be resitting my final exams in 2024 as I could not perform well due to a medical emergency in the family. I wish to apply for econ at the University of Edinburgh. I already have achieved the grades they require for Indian students to be considered for admission. Is there any chance I will be considered even after resits.

If you "already have achieved the grades they require for Indian students to be considered for admission", then why are you resitting?

You don't mention what qualifications you will be using to gain entry, but Edinburgh say here (with respect to A levels) that "If you are re-sitting or taking A Levels to improve your grades you may still be considered, but any offer we make may be based on grades above those usually required." It seems likely that this same policy would apply to other qualifications too.

Note that the above does not apply to all courses: "For medicine and veterinary medicine, only your first attempt at each subject will be considered unless there are extenuating circumstances, and you have sought approval to apply from the relevant admissions team." Given the "medical emergency in the family" you might be able to seek "approval to apply from the relevant admissions team".
Reply 2
Original post by DataVenia
If you "already have achieved the grades they require for Indian students to be considered for admission", then why are you resitting?