The Student Room Group
Medicine at Swansea University
Swansea University
Visit website

Living on Campus – What To Expect?

If you are starting university in September, living on campus is an excellent choice! Not only will you be located close to your lectures, but you will also have the chance to meet and bond with students who are just as excited and nervous about starting university as you. Below are some thoughts on what to expect from on-campus living. As I am a current Swansea student, I will also mention my campus experience to give you some insight.
Structure & Regulations University halls are mostly under the administration of the uni and therefore have rules and regulations that you should be aware of. It is key that you are mindful of noise pollution, cleanliness, and shared facilities. For example, most on-campus halls are structured as flats with ensuite rooms, shared kitchen, and common areas. Expect to have a bin rota, room inspections and shared appliances. This gives you an insight into being an adult away from home for the first time!

In Swansea, the university also has a partnership with some campus-adjacent private student halls with more features and close transport links. You can find out more here.
Medicine at Swansea University
Swansea University
Visit website
Amenities One of the benefits of living on campus is that all basic amenities such as supermarkets, laundry rooms, student canteens and bars and common areas for games and events are nearby. Additionally, a feature that I appreciated was 24hr security in most halls. Your accommodation induction will give you advice on your nearest shops, gyms, etc.

In Swansea, the two campuses both have accommodation and are in ideal locations. There are supermarkets e.g., Tesco located within walking distance to campus and dedicated transport links via university route buses. Additionally, University Health services are also located close by.