The Student Room Group

How Many Hours Do You Study? (GCSEs)

I'm turning 16 next month and I'm in my final year of iGCSEs (I'm a foreign student). I have mocks in January and my actual exams are in late April - early May. I'd really like to get into Yale, and my mom always tells me I should study more. I agree with her; I do want top grades after all, but I lack motivation to really push myself to my limits, because where I live, none of my friends care. I can almost effortlessly surpass everyone in my year group and it gives me a false sense of security, which I've begun to realize is bad for me, hence why I decided to make this post.

How many hours do you study per day? Please be as specific and aggravating as possible. Bonus points if you also plan to go to Yale or an Ivy. I'm nearly halfway through the semester, which means I get a week long break, so I want to use that time to reflect on my half-semester grades and set a studying routine. Any feedback will be really helpful and much appreciated <33
Hey! Im also doing igcses, except ive split the exam over two years but here’s what i did anyway. After school i think studying 2 hours is plenty, to work on the subjects that you find difficult. On weekends i’d say 4 hours per day, but honestly just depends on ur level at the moment. But tbh it’s more about the amount and quality of the work/revision you’re doing, i usually set myself tasks to do rather than hours. Also for exams definitely do past papers, helps immensely for maths and science as they always repeat questions
That’s just what i like to do! Obviously i don’t always follow this , but i do try to stay on this timetable, sometimes we all deserve a break :smile:
Reply 2
You should be doing 3 hours on school nights and 6 hours a day at weekends.
Reply 3
Original post by unknown20001