The Student Room Group

[deleted]

[deleted]
(edited 3 months ago)
I will guide you through
Original post by username3729415
hello, i have a practise assessment coming up and we have not been told how to write a law essay nor been given any examples and i am very confused. don’t want to plagiarise so i can’t post the topic on here (it’s constitutional) but was wondering if there are any high achieving students who would be willing to share an example essay or just explain the structure and how to reference (explain it in a way that someone with no experience can understand please)

i thought of potentially beginning a paragraph with a broad topic (i.e conventions) and then quoting an article or something (despite having done no extra reading? everyone is in the same boat tho luckily!) but was told that this is not how you do it and you start with a principle im so confused!!!

Hi there,

I am a third year law student. I would recommend looking online for any example essays etc. learning from their writing styles and structures may help (of course I do not mean to plagiarise the work).

There is no set structure to follow for law essays, though typically introduction, the main arguments, and then the conclusion. To follow such a structure, you would have to write a plan for your essay. This would mean writing down your argument, evidence, extra reading that support this etc. (it is really important to use case law/ legislation/ academic journals when writing your essays.) You do not have to do many extra reading, just really focus on understanding on one or two of these. The main argument/ body of the essay has to flow properly, so being able to link different evidences together is quite useful.