The Student Room Group

URGENT HELP! Suspend my studies or not?

I'm in my third year of uni and I'm feeling mentally exhausted and drained... I want to suspend my studies and finish it off next year but the thing is I don't have any student finance funding left. If I suspend my studies will I be able to get student finance on the basis that I left due to mental health problems ? Thank you for your help
Hi @Partyanimal123

I am sorry to hear that you are struggling.

Firstly, I want to say well done for getting this far. I am currently in my third year too and it is not easy.

I have known a couple of cases where people have applied for an extra year of funding due to extenuating circumstances (mental health being the reason in one case). So it is definitely worth looking into it. I would get in contact with SFE and get some advice on how exactly you can do that.

Also, think about what having a year off would look like for you, do you think you will be ready to come back to education after having a break? Would you feel a bit lost if you were no longer in some sort of education? Or would you work during that time? If you are in your third now you don't actually have long left so before you suspend your studies really think through the pros and cons!

I wish you all the best:smile:

Anastasia,
BCU Student Rep.
Original post by Partyanimal123
I'm in my third year of uni and I'm feeling mentally exhausted and drained... I want to suspend my studies and finish it off next year but the thing is I don't have any student finance funding left. If I suspend my studies will I be able to get student finance on the basis that I left due to mental health problems ? Thank you for your help

Hi there,

3rd Year can be really hard, well done for getting through uni it can be really difficult!