The Student Room Group

Feel unliked at work

I’m not enjoying my job. I’ve been working as admin assistant for 5 months and have very little to do. This usually means I do all my work and then go on my phone or do something on my laptop. I work between two offices. In one office I can ask for more work and have more stuff to do. I genuinely want more work and do everything people give me. But at the other one (I work here mainly) I have nobody to ask so end up going on my phone. I also have an hour commute to this office which can be hard three times a week as I wake up at 6am and get home at 7pm.

Today i was brought into a meeting. I have become a bit confused about working from home and who to tell, etc. That’s an easy fix. So they say we need to improve our communication. And also that my boss says I go on my phone a lot. I feel guilty about this as I genuinely do all my work and then go on my phone if I have nothing to do. They said they are very proud of their support team and want to keep it that way which makes me feel worse.

On top of this I don’t think any of my coworkers actually like me particularly. I’m quite quiet at work and prefer to just keep my head down. But it’s a very social office and people like to go out afterwards and have drinks and chat, etc. I do try to join in but everyone’s a-lot older than me. I’m 18 and they are all like 30-50. There’s a couple younger ones but I don’t really see them. I’m not sure I just feel like I don’t fit in. I’d love this if I was a bit older. But I’d prefer to just keep these people at work and go home.

I don’t know I feel like they I’m not well liked or contributing much. But I worry about leaving because they usually go out for drinks or have a dinner if someone leaves. I just feel trapped. And the meeting has made it worse as I feel even more unwanted. And like they regret hiring me. But I’d feel stupid leaving now as they’d think it was connected to the meeting.
(edited 3 months ago)