The Student Room Group

Will I get prosecuted for fare evasion?

Recently, I was caught by a ticket inspector for having my father's freedom pass. They took down my details (name, DOB, address), asked me a questions "do you have a valid ticket", "can you afford to buy a ticket", "do you know you are not allowed to travel without a ticket". Unwisely, I said yes to the first and no to the rest. They then made me sign ( I think it is a witness statement). I told them I was using it because my dad is sick and he is the main earner, they didn't seem to care. After that, they said TFL will write to me and consider to prosecute me.They confiscated the freedom pass too.

My question is, how screwed am I? I can manage to pay the fine, but getting a criminal record is something that would be career ending (I work in finance and will probably lose the qualifcation i am studying for).
Reply 1
Original post by Anonymous #1
Recently, I was caught by a ticket inspector for having my father's freedom pass. They took down my details (name, DOB, address), asked me a questions "do you have a valid ticket", "can you afford to buy a ticket", "do you know you are not allowed to travel without a ticket". Unwisely, I said yes to the first and no to the rest. They then made me sign ( I think it is a witness statement). I told them I was using it because my dad is sick and he is the main earner, they didn't seem to care. After that, they said TFL will write to me and consider to prosecute me.They confiscated the freedom pass too.

My question is, how screwed am I? I can manage to pay the fine, but getting a criminal record is something that would be career ending (I work in finance and will probably lose the qualifcation i am studying for).