The Student Room Group

The AA or UCL?

Hi,
I'm a home student, currently on a gap year. I have gotten into both the AA and the Bartlett and I'm having trouble choosing between them since the courses are so similar but the AA (being privately funded & costing around 14k/y) offers better facilities and a better student to tutor ratio, but is it worth all the extra cost and burden of loading myself with student loans etc. since UCL is so similar...
Thoughts?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Mockingbird36
is it worth all the extra cost and burden of loading myself with student loans etc. since UCL is so similar?

not at all. You'd be mad to take on that additional debt. Even if the AA was the same status as the Bartlett and the fees were the same, I'd choose UCL any day of the week. Reason: I don't want to spend my life making arbitrary triangular shapes out of white card with a laser cutter. At least at the Bartlett there is some more diversity - yes it goes too far down "ye olde curiosity shoppe" route in its exhibitions, but they admit people on talent, rather than daddy's bank balance. Consequently, you will learn a lot more from your fellow students at the Bartlett than you would at the AA.
Reply 2
UCL FTW

the AA is overated, if id got into UCL id have firmed i in a heartbeat!
Reply 3
woww u got into ucl,i am jealous
Reply 4
too right, UCL all the way! Well done on getting in, jealous!
Reply 5
I'd personally go to UCL.
Reply 6
UCL

1. - its a uni (7th in the world or something)
2. - good course
3. - dynamic, passionate and energetic (crazy) tutors (or so they say)
4. - 10k cheaper for home students
5. - etc, list goes on, ucl betters aa's course in most ways i can think of, the summer exhibition at the schools is pretty indicative of this. facility wise should not be too much of a problem for the first 3 years.
Reply 7
Thanks a lot guys, this really helps!
Reply 8
can u post some of ur drawings to see if i could get into ucl?pleaseee
Reply 9
emmmmm