The Student Room Group

Toothpaste in eye alert!!! Ahh helpppp!!!!!

Ok so I just accidently got some toothpaste in one of my eyes.

Basicaly I had an itch in the eye and forgot I had a bit of toothpaste on my finger. In goes the toothpaste:eek:

But it only went on the tip of my eye, not actually in if you know what I mean?

It did however tingle for a few seconds and feel mint fresh:p: too until I got in all of a panic and rinsed out with water about 5 times. I hope this did the trick though I'm not good with putting anything near my eye so the water will have only got to the tip too. I just hope during my bad rush the toothpaste didn't move into the main part of my eye!

Now an hour later there's no stinging or freshness, just a weird strained feeling, probably from closing and opening it so much and testing how good it still was.

Anyone done this before? Please say it's not harmful even if it does get in your eye? Do I now need to cry for a few days?:biggrin:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Well that was clever

wash your hands first before itching

and don't itch because it makes the pain worse
Reply 2
I did get a bit of toothpaste splashed into my eye this morning. I simply blinked then it went away :smile: Based on that, no it's not harmful, i can still see fine..
Reply 3
Why was the title made so urgent when you have already sorted it. If you have a first aid box, inside should be a little container the shape of an eye saying eye wash, boil some water, allow it to cool, then fill the eyewash, keeping your eyeopen put the eyewash over the eye. It will feel a little odd. This will hopefully rinse it out
khalaf
I did get a bit of toothpaste splashed into my eye this morning. I simply blinked then it went away :smile: Based on that, no it's not harmful, i can still see fine..

Thanks v much khalaf :smile: Happens more often than I thought then eh?:wink: :biggrin: