The Student Room Group

AS/A2 French?

:eek3: I took French at AS in September (AQA) and an finding it really difficult, particularly the speaking the is expected of me. Does anyone out there have any tips?

Also, ever since our january exams i've been thinking about next year, and whether to carry it on to A2 or not. Obviously it will depend on what I get for my AS in August, but what grade would be ideal for me to go on to A2? I was thinking that if I don't do great to drop French and pick up Biology,, but I'm not sure....

Agh! Pleasse help all you out there on TSR :woo: :eek3: :woo:
Reply 1
Hey :smile: Well I'm currently studying French at A2 level, and I know how you feel! I found it a massive jump from GCSE to AS level but the best piece of advice I can give you is to learn vocab! Because honestly, the more you know, the more you'll understand! It helps with every part of the exam! That was my problem at AS, I didn't learn my vocab properly and ended up getting a D in the exam. My speaking made up for it though as I got an A in that, which gave me a C overall. So yeah, vocab and revising tenses so that you can use things like the conditional and subjunctive because they look really good when it comes to the writing part of the exam.

Even though I only got a C, I carried on to A2 because I enjoyed it and it's going better this year. Find out what the topics will be when you're in A2 because if you're not interested in them, then you won't want to do it as there is a lot of new vocab to learn and it does get a bit tedious at times.