The Student Room Group

Starting two languages ab-initio

At the moment all I have language quailification wise is a GCSE Spanish at C.(i have a level mathsB chem B and physics C but they seem irrelevent)

I am starting Japanese BA, form scratch, literally i know nothing, at the university of Leeds, and wondered if people think it would be too much work to do beginners Spanish as an elective? Would i get confused and bored trying to do two languages at once, or would it help me, as my brain would be all focused on one type of learning?
Reply 1
I think it depends on the way you work. I started learning korean and spanish a while ago and it was fine. Since you already have some understanding of spanish will also make it easier. I think as long as you separate the rules for each language then you shouldn't have a problem.
Reply 2
yeh i have the same worry, im doing BA french and hispanic studies, and will be starting spanish from scratch, but also wondering whether or not to take electives in italian. is this just silly?
Reply 3
steve2k5
yeh i have the same worry, im doing BA french and hispanic studies, and will be starting spanish from scratch, but also wondering whether or not to take electives in italian. is this just silly?

may I ask which university? I'm interested in doing Hispanic Studies with French but I don't know much about it, is it good?
I might do German... but then again, I might do theology :P
Reply 5
What's a elective/s?
luke88
What's a elective/s?

It's a free choice module you can take alongside your main degree subject. To the original poster, taking 2 languages from scratch would be a challenge, but you already have GCSE Spanish, which should come back to you pretty quickly, and the two languages are completely different, so at least there's mo chance of you getting confused. If you're determined and you work hard, there's no reason why you shouldn't be able to do it.