The Student Room Group

can no longer cope with university

I'm a second year undergrad studying at Bristol uni with mental health problems. For the past 3 years I've been on and off of medication and therapy, but since starting my first year at university, I fell into a deep depression and struggled to go to lectures. The uni was aware of my problems when I applied and I somehow managed to drag my way through the first year.

But since starting my second year things have gotten my worse, after weeks of barely sleeping, going out or attending any lectures I went home in early December and haven't gone back to uni since. I've emailed the uni to say that I wouldn't be able to take my January exams due to extenuating circumstances but now they are putting me under pressure to let them know what I plan to do and when to come back. Also I cannot attend special lectures and meetings about doing coursework, so I can't get any marks in them.

The real problem is the pressure on my parents from me living at home, at first they we very understanding but now it feels as if they're just sick of having me around. I haven't gotten any better since December, and because of my issues I don't have any energy to do anything and am more or less housebound. They also have to keep paying for my rent and bills in Bristol, we're not well off and my pathetic excuse for a student grant has already run out and I get virtually nothing in DLA, they simply cannot afford to keep me at both uni and at home.

So with all the guilty and self destruction building up, both sides are now trying to get me to make up my mind. My parents reckon that I should drop out of Bristol, take a year out, and re-apply closer to home (London). I really like Bristol, I have a few once-on-a-lifetime friends there now and I don't want to feel like I'm running away from all that. Plus the attitude I get from most people is that if you drop out of uni your life is essentially over.