The Student Room Group

Psychology or Art at A2?

I'm currently studying English lit, Psychology, French and Art at AS and achieving A/B in the first three, but more like B/C in Art.

Career wise I'm not sure what I'd like to do, but I am drawn towards counselling/therapy so I would have thought Psychology. However a lot of people seem to think Psychology is a bit of a waste of time?
Reply 1
Don't take Art to A2 with those grades, not a good idea. There's far too much work involved and the workload required to get an A is just ridiculous. And despite all the work, it's not all that well respected.

I took Art and Psychology, best stick with Psychology if you're looking to get the best grade you can.

If you're looking more for the enjoyment factor though... I did really enjoy my A level Art sessions.It was a break from the normal, monotonous essays and such.
Yeah, that's what I like about Art, it's a break from all the writing. I know what you mean about the workload though, and I will definitely get a better AS grade in psychology. I would consider taking all 4 on for A2 but it's probably a bad idea considering how much time art takes up.
Reply 3
I'd say psychology.
Art requires a ridiculous amount of time, the students who tend to cope best with the work load are those who have other art type subjects and don't have a lot of exams.

And if you want to do counselling then it should be obvious that you want to do psychology!
What would a counselling course prefer? And psychology is much more respected than art, especially if you are planning on taking a psychology related subject later on...
Art A2 is one hell of a lot of work; I've had friends saying it took more out of them than any of their other subjects.

I'd stick with Psychology; you're more likely to get a better grade in that, and Art is something you can do in your free-time with out all the constraints posed by exams and such :h: Are you on AQA? If so, how did you find the recent 5-hour exam?
Reply 5