The Student Room Group

Self taught A-Levels.

Hi,

I'm expecting to over achieve, meaning that i'll have higher A levels than the universities i've applied to need (UCAS went off with BBB, mid term predicts AAA. 5 Mid table offers). Because of this, I was considering taking a gap year and doing an additional A level, to boost my application a bit.

I'll have Maths, Physics, "Business & Economics" and General studies.

I'm looking to study Economics, so I thought perhaps AS Further maths?

What're your experiences with self teaching? Would you reccommend it? Any other qualifications I should consider?

Thanks.
(edited 11 years ago)
Reply 1
Bump.
Reply 2
Bump? :bubbles:
Reply 3
Original post by Economi
Hi,

I'm expecting to over achieve, meaning that i'll have higher A levels than the universities i've applied to need (UCAS went off with BBB, mid term predicts AAA. 5 Mid table offers). Because of this, I was considering taking a gap year and doing an additional A level, to boost my application a bit.

I'll have Maths, Physics, "Business & Economics" and General studies.

I'm looking to study Economics, so I thought perhaps AS Further maths?

What're your experiences with self teaching? Would you reccommend it? Any other qualifications I should consider?

Thanks.

Erm, I understand that top unis do like the good old Further Maths and would look good on the application.

However, you already have Maths which they require and I guess Business and Economics looks alright.

If you REALLY want to, and think you're dedicated enough, you can do it.

I'm in year 12 and there's a girl in my year who is 90% self teaching and has an online tutorial I believe and I think she'll probably get an A in January.

So yes, it is doable, just think about whether you're up for it.
Reply 4
Original post by ErHi?
Erm, I understand that top unis do like the good old Further Maths and would look good on the application.