The Student Room Group

Doing an access course

Hey Guys,
I'm looking for a bit of advice on universities. Okay, my current situation is i am studying a Access to higher education business management course, at Gower college Swansea, in wales. I am extremely determined to go to Bath University, but they say you need 36 credits at distinction, which i am confident i will get. However, failing I don't achieve this and I go to a local university: Swansea. Is it really worth doing the degree at a low standard university, in relation to getting a job at the end of it?
Rather than 'low standard' I think the most important thing to look at is the actual course content. A first at Swansea would be better from a 2:2 from Cardiff, I'd say; and if the modules at a certain Uni don't inspire you then it's unlikely you'll achieve the best you can.

On my access course, the college is overly pressurising in going to local universities, which I don't like. I've had a look at the modules offered at Unis near to me on the courses I want to study and, ultimately, they don't interest me as much as unis further afield.

Personally, I gave up a career to go back into full time education and the access course and, for that reason, I will not compromise on where I go and what I do. That doesn't mean I'm not considering 'lower standard' unis, it means that I want, and I will get, a first for my degree and I think my best chance of doing that is if I study material that really interests me. If I was in my second year, feeling down and swamped with work and generally can't be arsed; actually liking the material I'm studying is going to mean so much more than the fact that the Uni is in the top 10 unis for such and such.
Reply 2