The Student Room Group

HELP

I was just wondering, i am currently in my second year at college and getting ready for my third year in 2014. I am studying Health and Social care at level 3 along with English Lit & Lang at A2. I would like to become a psychiatrist or a counselor, something in that field. Can anyone give me a straight answer as to what i should do next because i have no clue. And also.. what is the best thing for me to do at college next year... biology, chemistry, physics?
Thank you :smile:
Original post by taylortiffany
I was just wondering, i am currently in my second year at college and getting ready for my third year in 2014. I am studying Health and Social care at level 3 along with English Lit & Lang at A2. I would like to become a psychiatrist or a counselor, something in that field. Can anyone give me a straight answer as to what i should do next because i have no clue. And also.. what is the best thing for me to do at college next year... biology, chemistry, physics?
Thank you :smile:

I think you should do some research into your career options before deciding what to take at college next. Becoming a psychiatrist involves a minimum of 5 years at medical school plus 2 years in general medical/surgical jobs before starting psychiatry training. Becoming a counsellor would involve considerably less time at university. Have you considered mental health nursing or being a psychologist? Think about what appeals to you about each job and work out which is most suited to you, and then work out a plan of how to get there.

If you decide on psychiatry, you'd need to speak to medical schools about the best route to take as you've already started on A levels but without the right ones to meet normal entry requirements. I'm uncertain as to whether your H&SC would make you ineligible for foundation year medicine (for people who took non-science A levels), so this is something for you to look into.
Reply 2
Some good advice above.