The Student Room Group
University of Manchester
University of Manchester
Manchester

Longboarding/Cycling in Manchester

Hi guys,

I'm an International student coming to Manchester this September,

I have a few questions about longboarding/cycling.

1. Does Manchester have a conducive environment for biking/longboarding? (bike lanes, etc)

2. I'm living in Victoria Hall and would like to use longboard/bikes as a form of transportation to n fro the university. Is this advisable?

3. I'm more keen on longboarding since it is more portable. Are longboards allowed on campus? By that, I mean in classrooms and not locked away in a biking shed.

ps: If this is possible, I would learn in asap!

Anyone else keen to longboard as a transportation?
Original post by Clementtan
Hi guys,

I'm an International student coming to Manchester this September,

I have a few questions about longboarding/cycling.

1. Does Manchester have a conducive environment for biking/longboarding? (bike lanes, etc)
There are some bike lanes, but these can be a bit patchy and sub par in places. Some are on the pavement, and some are on the road, but each is vulnerable to cars / pedestrians wandering into them. It's not the Netherlands, by any means.

2. I'm living in Victoria Hall and would like to use longboard/bikes as a form of transportation to n fro the university. Is this advisable?
I cycled everywhere in Manchester, and would definitely recommend it. From Victoria Hall, I'd recommend cycling along Hathersage Road, and then joining the off road cycle path that runs alongside Whitworth Park, before travelling northward and then filtering into the bus lane that runs through campus.