The Student Room Group

Architecture Part 2 help, transferring from England to Scotland.

I'm doing my 2 year architecture Part 2 at Strathclyde university, having started in September 2014, and having trouble with the fees. I did my 3 year Part 1 in Manchester from 2009-2012, took two years out, and am thus classed as a continuing student by SFE.

Strathclyde have set my fees at £9000 a year, though including a scholarship from the Engineering faculty, it's £6000 a year. As an architecture student I'm entitled to a student loan for the Part 1 and Part 2 course, as Student Finance England see my course as a 5 year undergrad course. Strathclyde treat me as a new student here and set my fees at £9000, but SFE treat me as a continuing student who's fees are capped at £3465.

According to SFE, I am on the fourth year of a course, transferring from Manchester. Despite being told over the phone by SFE at various stages that would be fully funded for this course despite the higher fees, I am now being told by that I'm only going to get £3465 of loan this year. This is what the tuition fees would be if I did my Part 2 course in England. This leaves a £2535 shortfall that I can't get a loan for.

I originally applied to SFE for my Part 2 as a 'new' student, requesting £9000 fees, but then I was advised to change as I was a 'continuing' student, which now means my tuition fee loan is capped at £3465. RIBA guidelines state that fees for continuing PG students should pay what they paid at the UG stage, as long as they have no more than three years out. I took two years out, graduating from Manchester in 2012, and starting here in 2014. Strathclyde university said that RIBA's guidelines must just apply to England, but SFE clearly think this applies to all of the UK.