The Student Room Group

Oxford Brookes or Newcastle University?

Hi everyone!
As you can guess from the title I need some hep to decide to which uni to go on September. I already got accepted in both of them with conditional offers, but I don't know where to go.
Besides all the social and living costs part, I would really like to have some feedback about the courses and how good do they teach. I'm going to study Japanese and Business.
So, please, can anyone tell me how is it like to study in both of them?
Thank you very much!

PS: can you also tell me how many weeky japanese language lesson hours to you have?
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 1

Hi,

Sorry I've not been on here for a couple of days so just seen this.
I'm a Masters student at Newcastle University and I did my undergraduate degree there in Modern Languages (French, German and Japanese).

Is it the Modern Languages and Business Studies degree you've applied for?
Will you be doing Japanese as a beginner or post- A Level?

Unfortunately as I did a 3 language degree I can't tell you anything about the business side of things, or the Japanese cultural modules as I only got to take the Japanese language modules. But I can at least answer any questions you have about language classes, the Year Abroad and the department, city etc etc.

Japanese was my beginner language so I did Level A in first year. We got 6 hours of language seminars a week in a group no bigger than 15. We spent two of those six hours in a language lab focusing on listening and speaking exercises. Level A now get 8 hours of contact time a week, including 2 in a language lab, but it's still 6 hours for the other levels.

In final year (Level C), classes were split into an hour for reading, writing, speaking, listening and two hours for grammar.

Due to the high amount of classes and workload, Japanese accounts for 40 credits each year (most modules are 20 credits). So although it sounds like a lot of work, you are at least getting credited for it!