The Student Room Group

Going to uni with my boyfriend

Are there any cities which have two universities- one with higher and one with lower grade requirements?
(edited 8 months ago)
Reply 1
initial ones that spring to mind

-Newcastle/Northumberland
-Leeds/Trinity/Beckett
-Liverpool/John Moores/Hope
-Manchester/Manchester Met
-Nottingham/Trent
-Birmingham and Aston/CBU
-Bristol/UWE
-Bath/Bath Spa
-Cambridge/ARU
(edited 9 months ago)
Original post by Rowanthepotato
I'm a high achieving student (predicted A*A*A*A) and my partner is predicted lower grades (BDE) so he'll be taking a gap year and applying when he has his a-level results.
I intend to go to either Oxford or York to study Linguistics so that he can attend Oxford Brookes or York St Johns for their Business Management courses as it's very unlikely he'll achieve the necessary grades for a Russel Group (but fingers crossed!).

Are there any other cities which have two universities- one higher ranked and one with lower grade requirements - that would work well for our situation? And regarding accomodation, what is the best solution so that we could live together?

Here you go:

Southampton and Solent
Surrey and Roehampton
Cambridge and Anglia Ruskin
Oxford and Brookes
UCL and King’s
Leeds and Leeds Beckett
Manchester and Man Met/Salford Uni
Birmingham and Aston/Birmingham City
Liverpool and Liverpool John Moores
Warwick and Coventry
Nottingham and Trent Uni

I suggest that you focus on Oxford. Good luck
Reply 3
warwick and coventry uni are in the same area, london has several so i wont even list them, southampton and solent, and basically every other major area will have its good unis and its less good ones, you just need to look for like 5-10 minutes trust me
Original post by Wired_1800
Here you go:

Southampton and Solent
Surrey and Roehampton
Cambridge and Anglia Ruskin
Oxford and Brookes
UCL and King’s
Leeds and Leeds Beckett
Manchester and Man Met/Salford Uni
Birmingham and Aston/Birmingham City