The Student Room Group

Making notes for the clinical years?

So a few friends and I were discussing the topic of making notes for clinical years. I'm currently in my third year, and I make notes and find them useful, however they are time consuming to make. A few of my friends don't make notes and just read Kumar and Clark. I'm wondering what everybody else's take is on this?
Original post by Nuttyneuron
So a few friends and I were discussing the topic of making notes for clinical years. I'm currently in my third year, and I make notes and find them useful, however they are time consuming to make. A few of my friends don't make notes and just read Kumar and Clark. I'm wondering what everybody else's take is on this?

During pre-clin I made lots and lots of typed notes. I tried this during the first few weeks of clinical medicine and I found it very time consuming, especially since I was getting back home later everyday and was much tireder than during pre-clin - I just didn't have the energy to be making reams of notes, none of which seemed to be going in.

Thing is, clinical medicine is less about trying to cram scientific concepts and more about gaining practical working knowledge to allow you to think and behave like a doctor. You gain much of this knowledge simply by showing up and doing the job i.e. from being on the wards, talking to patients, presenting to the juniors, clerking patients in A&E/AMU if there's nothing happening on your ward, asking your consultant questions in clinic, etc.

Believe it or not, you will subconsciously be learning and retaining a lot even if you don't realise it at the time. Learning by osmosis, as it were. It's all being stored away and over a period of months and years (especially if you keep seeing the same presenting complaints and management plans over and over again) it will eventually sink in. You don't need to make physical notes for this to happen.