The Student Room Group

English language degree or events management which would be better?

Hi
So I am trying to decide what to do at university. I want to do a degree because it seems to increase career prospects and I would like the experience of going to university.
I think I would like to work in the events industry however I have no experience and I am finding it hard to get any. For this reason I'm thinking an events degree might be a good idea because I would get the chance to do work placements and a few of the job advertisements I have seen for events managers state that a degree in events management would be preferable.
However, I have read articles and comments online stating that an events degree is useless and not worth doing and I am worried that people will judge me for doing a 'lesser', 'easier' and 'useless' degree and I'm also worried that it wouldn't actually increase my chances of getting a job in events.
My other option is to do English language as I am currently studying the A level however I'm not sure I would enjoy it as much as an events degree. But would it be worth it to do English as it is a more respected degree? Or is English language also a bit of a waste of time because it won't actually train me for a career?
I would be really grateful to hear people's thoughts on this and whether you think academic or vocational degrees are better?
Thanks.
Also, sorry if this is in the wrong forum, I wasn't sure where to post it...
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 1
Original post by Ellismall
Hi
So I am trying to decide what to do at university. I want to do a degree because it seems to increase career prospects and I would like the experience of going to university.