The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

Diff between BA (Hons) and BSc (Hons)?

Good day fellows,

allow to introduce myself in a few words: my name's Herbert and I'm a possible student of the OU (provided that final budget calculation allows, that is: I'm from Switzerland which makes everything a bit more expensive - a lot more, actually). I'd be one of the more mature ones, I guess; mind you, haven't seen any educational organization from the inside within the past 20 years... However, now I'm willing to take the full programme I once opted to skip in favor of my work as a programmer. Why? The answer's easy: just to eventually learn much of the theoretical background with which I still struggle (although I've invested much in autodidactic education).

Anyway, I've assembled a programme which I think should suit my needs to earn a "BA (Hons) or BSc (Hons) Computing and Mathematical Sciences" after approx. 6 years. And right from the start the title is somewhat unclear to me, more specifically: why is is a BA *or* BSc? How do the both differ? All courses mention suitability for BA or BSc: I found no single piece of information on the OU pages. Maybe someone wants to enlighten me?

Also, I would be interested very much in discussing my selection of modules with someone who is going towards the same goal (or already went through the programme), either by mail or right here in this thread.

Well, that's it for now, looking forward to your answers :smile:
//Donar
This is a weird thing that the OU do.

I am pretty sure that a bachelors degree in computing/maths would be a BSc. I don't know why the OU imply there is a choice!

PS for social science degrees you can pick BA or BSc, which presents a dilemma ... to go for the BSc because it looks better on the CV even though you know that social science isn't really science at all?
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
Reply 2