The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

Open University

Has anyone studied via the open university?
Could I have some feedback regards their study process, assignments etc. I am looking at studying psychology with counselling and would really appreciate all the feedback
Reply 1
Original post by AmanRai
Has anyone studied via the open university?
Could I have some feedback regards their study process, assignments etc. I am looking at studying psychology with counselling and would really appreciate all the feedback

I'm a current student at open university studying biology. here are some things you should known:

you can choose to go either part-time or full-time, depending on the number of modules you choose per year.

all modules are studied online, with all their study materials provided online. a few modules do provide books.

assignments are either assessed through tutor marked assessments and/or interactive computer marked assessments. there is a timed exam at the end of the module.

study support is provided by online tutorials, day schools, other online activities, etc.

hope this helps. you can find more about them at the official website of the university.
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
Open University is amazing.
From a current student.
Reply 3
I study physics with the open university. humazhs above, has pretty much covered the important details. If you want to hear positive reviews, then I can give you that. It's all done flexibly - in you own time and the tutors are helpful - they give you feedback on every assignment and help you track your progress too.
(edited 2 months ago)
Reply 4
Thank you so much to you all for the feedback and just explaining the process in generell. I have been told that I can choose my modules in March some time and October would be my start date.

I have an account open with them now? Just need to get the ball rolling with applying for my student loan.