The Student Room Group

House Deposit savings?

whats the minimum I should be saving up to put down for a house deposit in the midlands (average 3 bedroom house ranges from £120k-£180k) if I want a decent semi detached at a minimum?

im thinking more like solicitor fees etc ontop of a deposit (5%,10%?) and I currently earn £26k a year saving £800 a month but thatll go down to £18k when I leave uni and get a job in the field im actually studying for starting at the bottom

also feel free to add how much you guys have saved up

Scroll to see replies

Have you researched how much the fees are? Plus you need money for furniture.
Reply 2
depending on the website ive seen solicitor prices from £200-£1000 so im unsure (I already have £2k for furniture, saving up for that too), I have 2 years until I finish uni to save up
Reply 3
Original post by PinkAcid
whats the minimum I should be saving up to put down for a house deposit in the midlands (average 3 bedroom house ranges from £120k-£180k) if I want a decent semi detached at a minimum?

im thinking more like solicitor fees etc ontop of a deposit (5%,10%?) and I currently earn £26k a year saving £800 a month but thatll go down to £18k when I leave uni and get a job in the field im actually studying for starting at the bottom

also feel free to add how much you guys have saved up

Aim for at least a 10% deposit. You'll pay another 2% stamp duty.
Fees are variable but expect to pay at least £1k for the solicitor and searches etc.
Other costs to consider are the house survey (several hundred), any redecorating required and moving costs.

When I bought my first house I had about £30k saved up.
Some places also charge an arrangement for setting up the mortgage. May want to look into that. Plus you need to pay for buildings insurance and contents insurance .

Does anyone know how much banks will lend as a mortgage. How is it worked out?
Original post by Simonthegreat

If you look on bank websites, they should have a calculator?