The Student Room Group

Currently in first year, want to apply to another university...

Hi, I'm currently a first year student at university, I got AAB for my Alevels in 2005, took a gap year and chose a course which I am not enjoying at all. So basically I'm applying to other universities to study a different course, Civil Engineering to be precise but I'm confused at how I should start my personal statment. Should I start with " I am currently a first year student..... and then say why I dont like it, what I got in my Alevels and why I want to do engineering now?

I've spent long enough trying to like my current course, but I really dont think I can stand doing it for another 3 years. Any help regarding the personal statement would be appreciated. Also if anyone has had a similar experience and did not apply through ucas, please do let us know.

Thanks in advance.:tsr2:
you have to be able to sound like you are not a liability - coz universities hate drop-outs
try to make show some type of connection between the course you are doing now and what you want to do - be honest, but not tooo honest!
when you're done with the statment you can always drop it at the PS dept so we can have a look at it and advise accordingly
What course are you doing at the moment? I'm sure there are aloads of civil courses available in ucas since its not that popular.

If the course relates to civil engineering then you can talk about that. then you can mention how you was attracted to study civil engineering.
Reply 3
Well currently I'm studying optometry and I find it extremely boring and it has nothing to do with civil engineering either. I got really interested in it last year when I spent some time abroad with my uncle whos a brigadier and a civil engineer, he showed me projects he had worked on and I found it really interesting. Visted lots of remote places in southern china near the himalyans where he had constructed roads etc, saw the work involved in it and really liked it.