The Student Room Group

Chemistry or engineering degree?

Hey,
I need some advice on uni degrees.
I'm currently studying maths, further maths, chemistry and physics A level. I'm in Y12.
I know I don't have to decide yet, but I want to come to a decision fairly soon so I can start preparing stuff for my personal statement etc.
I have an Arkwright Engineering Scholarship and for the most part of this year I wanted to study mechanical/aeronautical engineering. The jobs and projects you can work on with this degree really interests me, but I am currently not enjoying physics at school. I'm also worried all the theory and maths behind engineering will be very tricky at university, and I don't know if it will truly interest me if I'm not completely interested in it.
My favourite subject by far is chemistry. I have always loved it and have found it really interesting. I would like to go into chemistry research, possibly do a PhD. The thing is, I want to do a degree that's worth my while. I really want to use whatever I study in a future career, and I'm concerned that my job prospects will be minimal, and I won't be able to progress in this field.
I have looked at chemical engineering, the obvious link between the 2, but this doesn't really interest me as a career. I have also looked at civil engineering, but I don't really know much about this area, though I could see it being interesting.

If anyone's got any advice, that would be greatly appreciated!