The Student Room Group

Fluent in Four Months? A Self-Taught Language Learner's Quest...

Fluent in Four Months? A Self-Taught Language Learner's Quest to Master Languages, Learning, and Laziness.

Should You Read This?
If you are interested in learning languages and need a repository of the best resources, techniques and advice, this is for you. Or maybe you want to learn more about autodidactic learning, or anxiety, procrastination, or laziness cause you to achieve less than you are capable of.

The Goals:
Hello everyone! I'm an autodidact who likes to learn things on my own. I love language learning, but in the past, I've gotten...let's say, distracted.

2016 is my year.

Repeat after me: 2016 is my year.

My first target is at least B2 in Spanish and B1 in Czech in 4 months.

The Challenge:
But - and there's always a but - I struggle with anxiety-driven procrastination, and I'll need to address it in order to succeed. In other words, revision isn't enough.

Committing to success means committing to conquering my habits. Incorporating mindfulness meditation, adequate exercise and water, and positive psychology into my routine are just as important as the goals themselves.

Feel free to ask questions or leave comments.

PS Kudos to who can tell me what super polyglot the blog's title references.
(edited 8 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Ooh, good luck. I can sympathise with anxiety driven procastination.

I have deactivated facebook temporarily as a result actually. I was spending a lot of time rereading messages and things because I was worried about them.

Fluent in 4 months is an impressive goal! :biggrin: Hope you make it.

And you're referring to Benny
Benny Lewis.

Wish you all the best!
Reply 3
Yes you're referring to Benny, but I would take what he says with a pinch of salt. He has been criticised a fair bit by people for his over-optimism and his naive view on what ''fluency'' actually is.