The Student Room Group

Child Nursing - failed entry this year.

Hi,
Just wondered if anyone could help me with Child Nursing applications. Im studying Health Science Access this year so my college have made sure we all applied for university, im currently 8 months pregnant so a lot of pressure but ive managed it and nearly at the end. However i applied for Sheffield Hallam, Birmingham and Nottingham and sadly got rejected from all of them. They all said that my personal statement was not strong enough and lacked experience. Just wondered what more experience i could get bar what ive already listed below?
Any help would be amazing.

So here is my experience so far

I work as a volunteer Doula and this job includes working shift patterns in hospital supporting women in labour, emotional support, practical support, teaching breast feeding, safe sleep, healthy eating, working with women with PND, ive dealt with bereavement support of a newborn, smoking, financial support, large work loads, daily reports, safe guarding, domestic abuse, and homeless women.
I also work for Home Start and within this role ive again supported PND, family health, children with speech problems, immigration support, domestic abuse, language barriers, families with ME, parents who struggle with more than one child, again report writing, safe guarding issues, isolation, befriending services, budgeting, health of families and children, routines, potty training.
Then ive worked since 16 (30 now) so lots of manager roles, large workloads, working within teams, independent working, task solving, decision making, basic cleaning, party hosting, aiding child development, then the basic cash handling, ordering stock, fire drills etc. Then i have 3 children of my own and loads of personal experience. Im hoping to become a health visitor or neo natal nurse.

I just cant see what else i can gain as experience that can strengthen my personal statement for September next year. Any help?
Reply 1