The Student Room Group

What coding language should I learn?

Hello. I am a year ten student, and because I seem to have a lot of time on my hands due to lockdown, I was considering learning a new coding language. I am reasonably proficient at Python but not at all ‘industry level’ good, if you know what I mean - for instance, I can create a class with instances and use methods but I don’t know much about decorators and I only really have a basic grasp of the key concepts of object oriented programming. I am able to break down commands and understand what each part means in most cases (except if it’s a really obscure technique).
I want to learn a language which will give me a better understanding of how programming is actually processed and broken down by computers, which should in turn help me to learn other languages in the future. I also want a language which could give me a head start for getting into the technology industry, especially in the field of software development. The language should be achievable for me but I do want to push myself.
If you’re aware of any languages that might be good to have a look at, please reply! I am aware that my requirements are a little picky so I don’t mind if they’re not all covered.
Thanks!
Reply 1
Original post by Eyeux
Hello. I am a year ten student, and because I seem to have a lot of time on my hands due to lockdown, I was considering learning a new coding language. I am reasonably proficient at Python but not at all ‘industry level’ good, if you know what I mean - for instance, I can create a class with instances and use methods but I don’t know much about decorators and I only really have a basic grasp of the key concepts of object oriented programming. I am able to break down commands and understand what each part means in most cases (except if it’s a really obscure technique).