The Student Room Group

Modern Languages at University

I am looking at studying either French or German or even both at university. If you are currently studying a language can you describe how it is and if you recommend it?
Hello!

I'm studying French and Chinese at uni and I'm loving it so far! I started Chinese on a Beginner's course so that has been really intense (just in case you are looking at doing a beginner's course- be warned! it is hard work!) but it has been a lot of fun.
I know this will depend on the uni, but the people and the lecturers on the course are really nice. I find that they seem to be a lot more friendly than other staff (I'm probably biased) but I think the fact that language classes tend to be reasonably small and involve quite a lot of discussion really helps you to feel comfortable with the other students and staff.
Another thing that I'm enjoying is the cultural aspect- it's more than just learning how to speak the language. Again, this will differ by uni, but there is a lot more opportunity to study history, literature, film, art, sociology etc. about the country/ies where your language is spoken. This is really interesting and also very useful as it makes your degree really valuable and flexible in terms of employment.
Overall- it is a lot of work, so if you want to do well, be prepared to work hard and go to lots of seminars! but I think it's a really fun and useful degree, especially if you're not entirely sure about your future, there's quite a bit of freedom with languages.

Hope this helps!
Good luck!
that's amazing help, thank you! Are you having to choose whether to go to France or China for your study year abroad (or is it 6 months?)