The Student Room Group

Two Future Magic Circle Trainees: Ask Us Anything!

We are aware that lots of people want to use this lockdown period to get ahead/improve themselves so we’re here to help best we can. Feel free to ask us anything from how to improve your commercial awareness and nail those applications to how we chose our firms and why we want to go into commercial law.

Some background: @coffeeneeded27 and I are students at different universities, in different years and will eventually be working for different MC firms. @coffeeneeded27 is a non-law student and I am a law student, so feel free to direct your questions to either or both of us!
(edited 4 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Which university did you go to? Do you really need to be an Oxbridge student or are there any other Russell Group students as well?
Original post by law_student_int
Which university did you go to? Do you really need to be an Oxbridge student or are there any other Russell Group students as well?

I'm at Warwick and you 110% do not need to be at Oxbridge to get an MC TC! There are future trainees from unis all over the country, includng non-Russell Group in my intake for Clifford Chance. The firm uses CV blind interviewing at the assessment centre stage to remove any bias towards universities and it really works :smile:
Reply 3
In line with what @coffeeneeded27 has said, both of us are non-Oxbridge candidates and are students at RG unis, so Oxbridge isn’t a pre-requisite for a MC TC by any means! I would say at MC level around 30%-40% are Oxbridge; both in terms of what I’ve personally observed at three MC Assessment Centres, Vacation Schemes and TC Offers and official statistics (https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.legalcheek.com/2019/07/nearly-a-third-of-magic-circle-trainees-went-to-oxbridge/amp/). Of course, a lot of recruitment depends upon what you do at university (academics, extra cirric and the application itself) so just make the most of wherever you end up!