The Student Room Group

NHS Learning Support Fund.

I currently study podiatry which is supported by the NHSLSF. I have applied for this academic year 2020-2021. It has been approved so far. I am in the 2nd year of my course and this is my first time applying for the NHSLSF

I have read somewhere on their website that I can apply to claim for the previous year 2019-2020 as I was still studying podiatry then but I didn’t know I could get a support fund.

Can I claim for the previous year? If so how?
Reply 1
Hi I’m also a podiatry student and just moved onto my second year.

I can confirm that you WON’T be able to claim previous years I’m afraid, only the current academic year that you apply for since the fund was brought in.
Reply 2
Oh right okay thankss. Out of curiosity where are you studying podiatry?
Reply 3
Original post by Lpt17
Hi I’m also a podiatry student and just moved onto my second year.

I can confirm that you WON’T be able to claim previous years I’m afraid, only the current academic year that you apply for since the fund was brought in.

Oh right okay thankss. Out of curiosity where are you studying podiatry?
Hi, I am planning to apply for a podiatry degree starting 2021. I've not been about to find out if the learning support fund affects the amount you get for your maintenance loan? I would really need both the maintenance loan and the NHS funding to be able to afford the study so it's pretty important to be sure. Just can't get anyone official to tell me :frown:
Reply 5
Original post by Lakajawi
Hi, I am planning to apply for a podiatry degree starting 2021. I've not been about to find out if the learning support fund affects the amount you get for your maintenance loan? I would really need both the maintenance loan and the NHS funding to be able to afford the study so it's pretty important to be sure. Just can't get anyone official to tell me :frown: